Home > Personal > From whence I came

From whence I came

I was showing The Cub old posts from my original BourbonBird days, going back as far as 2005.  I’d blogged since 2003, but all blogs bar BB were hidden or deleted with thanks to my neuroses.  I’ve since blitzed through a few blogs both alone and with likeminded misfits, but nothing kept me as grounded as BourbonBird.  After he had gone home, I read through every post.  I’d like to think it wasn’t so much narcissism as it was a desire to read how I used to write, but it really was a whole hammock’s worth of narcissism.  It was careless and furious and almost a stream of consciousness that, for one reason or another, resonated with a few people.  It made me some spectacular friends, many of whom I’ve made obscure connections and still keep in touch with today, albeit infrequently.  It also gave me somewhere to go when it all became too much to process alone…

So I am back, in the hopes of finding a new perch.  Somewhere I can be comfortable and figure out arse from tit in the debris.

Categories: Personal
  1. September 15, 2009 at 10:23 pm

    The same happens when you read over your old diaries. I put one of my diaries through the industrial paper shredder at work not that long ago. I wanted to burn it, but that would have been too Wiccan, and I didn’t have any patchouli handy.

    I’m happy to see bourbonbird take 2 up and running.

    I have no idea what to call my future blog. Absolutely no idea.

  2. BourbonBird
    September 15, 2009 at 11:14 pm

    You would’ve also needed a full moon and a fistful of red-haired pubes for a successful Wiccan ANYTHING.

    As for your future blog… Adios Estupido? Or, I Cut Hair Terribly. Or, TRUK vs Pradeep.

  3. September 15, 2009 at 11:21 pm

    Hilarious, I am getting weird looks from my co workers. I’m in dangerous territory here – I’ve not yet given notice that I’m leaving, but I *know* I’m leaving, so my care factor is dropping to low levels.

    My future blog should be a combination of all of your three suggestions.

    Maybe I should stay away from your blog though, my presence brings out the jerk in both of us.

  4. BourbonBird
    September 15, 2009 at 11:25 pm

    I Want to Cut TRUK, Estupido!

    I could see that on a mug.

    Don’t leave me. Stay with me. A huge incentive to revive BB was to rediscover my jerk! It’s all well and good to grow and mature, but I don’t want my jerk to die.

    So don’t go. Or else, I’ll burn your hair like that Korean “Europe” soccer fan at 3WM all those years ago.

  5. September 15, 2009 at 11:41 pm

    I just lolled at the thought of you going to work with a TRUK pic on a mug (the one with the huge red beard).

    Sometimes I think my sense of humour has issues.

  6. September 16, 2009 at 11:30 am

    And so, the new blog appears. Refer to link in this post under my name.

  7. September 16, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    Hi

  8. September 17, 2009 at 4:59 am

    Link coming up, good to see you back old friend.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

