Home > Uncategorized > Let’s hope it doesn’t rain

Let’s hope it doesn’t rain

Asthmatics and allergy sufferers should stay indoors, low pressure system, government conspiracy, delayed flights, Oompa Loompas, bloodnuts, the Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse, Armageddon, blah blah blah… 

Sydney’s dust storm has everyone freaking out.  Having grown up near the bush, it’s not the first time I’ve seen a blood red sky so I’m far less plussed about it, but I did bring my camera out for when I walked The Kid to school at 8:30am because it was the first time she’d seen anything like it.  Due to a weird wake-up at 4am which had me sleeping in until 7am, I missed the super-redness everyone has Facebooked about, but this is as it was when we left our unit:

P1010160

Old mate Elliot took this photo from his place in Bondi at 6am this morning:

bondi

Here’s two from old mate Nic on the Harbour Bridge on her way to work:

10323_169480233331_626463331_3781851_3966506_n

10323_169480228331_626463331_3781850_8198914_n

I’d be so pissed if I were this dude:

P1010153

All the cars parked outside are covered in red dust, and people are walking around hunched underneath umbrellas, even though it’s not raining.  Birds are silent, and all the bugs and spiders are staying put.  At this very moment, there is a couple having an argument near a window in one of the units next door about how the dust might kill them. 

Nothing is making sense and it is fantastic. 

I can’t wait to get into work today… all the hypochondriacs will be running in with SARS masks on, the chronic and terminal patients will clog the phone lines, and the Autistic children will be running around like ferals on crack.  Thank goodness I’m going to be holed up in a back office doing medico-legal, or else I may just lose my shit.

Unfortunately, I’m still looking for this bird:

tr3

I’ll give you everything I have if she comes to pick me up from work tonight.

 

Update:  LOL.  Thanks to mUmbrella.

Kanye-Tongue-dust-storm-350x262

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 23, 2009 at 3:44 am

    That’s my mom

  2. BourbonBird
    September 23, 2009 at 3:48 am

    I want to nuzzle into her cans forevermore. Lucky man.

  3. September 23, 2009 at 10:40 pm

    Oi! Lay off us Ranga’s. One day we will take over the world, just as long as it is not too sunny on that day.

    In a way, Sydney was a good city to have such a red dust storm, because it makes things like the coat hanger, and the tram depot look very interesting.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

