Home > Personal > Closure

Closure

P1010194

So I met my biological father, Gil, a couple Fridays ago.  I’ve yet to form a permanent opinion on things, but he’s a good guy and I think meeting him gave me far more closure than I ever expected to find.  Sorry it’s a bad photo, we weren’t really gearing up for a photo shoot or anything.

Major points of note: 

–  He gave me to his sister to adopt me so that I would have a chance at becoming an Australian citizen at such a young age, but he intended to come over and raise me himself after he’d saved enough to come over.  She cut off contact early and never gave notice when we’d visited the Philippines, so he never had a chance to pick up where he left off.

–  He didn’t know I’d run away from home until he got to Australia a couple weeks ago.  Apparently, I’d just suddenly soured and left.  😐

–  He stopped drinking when I said to him at 12 years old that I didn’t want to see him drink.  He had his first light beer with me since then on the night we met up. 

–  He brought me my favourite hat, one that I’d left him when I was 12 years old.  It was totally ugly, felt and mosaic in pattern.  I made him hide it again in his bumbag. 

–  He was proud of who I’d become and supports the life I have now. 

Luckily, I had the support of some nearest and dearest friends who knew when it was happening and rallied around me to keep the good times rolling so I didn’t drive myself insane with what-ifs or if it went pear-shaped. 

More on this later but, for now, I feel pretty great.

Categories: Personal
  1. ~O~
    October 11, 2009 at 5:53 pm

    Congratulations. This is an important connection.

  2. October 13, 2009 at 1:11 am

    I am really happy for you. Even if at the end of the day, in a worse case scenario, you find you don’t want to have anything to do with each other, at least you have had the opportunity.

    I really hope it all works out, and you have many happy years to make up for those lost.

  3. October 16, 2009 at 4:16 am

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaay! What an excellent story.

    And this may be completely inappropriate, but you look hawt in that photo 🙂

  4. November 25, 2009 at 1:28 pm

    I don’t see a bad photo, I see a good person enjoying herself.

    The expression in your face says it all.

    (I thought I should drop in to say hello here, since you did the same at my blog – nice place you have here. I’ll be back.)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

