Home > Uncategorized > All a bit Stepford

All a bit Stepford

Bleary-eyed, I look through my warm box at other boxes glowing orange through the fog in the valley.  There’s a kookaburra somewhere, a hearty laugh cracking down through scribbly gum and the perculator hissing behind me, reminding us how stupid we are for being human as if it were a choice.  His feet smart from trying to steal my steak at yesterday’s barbie, the bastard. 

Cruelty is the morning newspaper I throw in the recycling the moment the uniformed schoolboy walks around the corner.  It’s a choice to be a part of it now and I am thankful.

I was stopped yesterday by a stern father, balding and paint-spackled polo shirt, hand rigid in front of himself and pointed down towards his son on his trike.  Kneepads, elbowpads, helmet, King of Spades card bent back in the spokes.  I was the behemoth pedestrian who made him sit for two agonising minutes and I have to say that I have never felt so pressured to cross a driveway in an orderly fashion.  I hopped over a trio of rag-tag children no older than 8 surrounded by hula hoops and scooters and sidewalk chalk, taking a break on their backs to argue about what the clouds were trying to tell them.  Mothers mulled over coffee and chai on their front verandahs while dads tinkered with the booster seats, brows furrowed and business sleeves rolled.

I have bigger bills to pay and a 7 year old’s first slumber party to organise and through a pre-emptive headache helped along by tiny giant footsteps and a human rocket careening down a floorboard hallway, I can’t help but wonder how and when I’m going to die.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. April 7, 2010 at 1:54 pm

    Damn, this was way good. I miss your words.

  2. April 7, 2010 at 9:26 pm

    You write very well indeed. I discovered this while feeling a bit down. Echoes with the feeling of being dissonant (sp?) with your surroundings. A bit like me really. Nice to know I’m not the only one with a child (mine’s 8) and feels like the rest of the world is settling for the mundane! 🙂

  3. May 2, 2010 at 5:55 am

    “I can’t help but wonder how and when I’m going to die.”

    The 5 Most Likely Ways and Times Rin Will Kick It:

    5. Accidental matricide – During her daughter’s first driving lesson.

    4. Beers beers beers beers beers beers beers – Any given weekend.

    3. Klingon disruptor beam – In the distant, distant future.

    2. Burns and smoke inhalation – When society starts burning witches again.

    1. Ninja – When she least expects it.

  4. recon
    May 18, 2010 at 5:26 am

    My comment on your last post was meant for this one. You rock.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

